Elsinore

“To be, or not to be, that is the question:

Whether ’tis Nobler in the mind to suffer

The Slings and Arrows of outrageous Fortune,

Or to take Arms against a Sea of troubles,

And by opposing end them: to die, to sleep

No more; and by a sleep, to say we end

The heart-ache, and the thousand Natural shocks

That Flesh is heir to? ‘Tis a consummation

Devoutly to be wished. To die to sleep,

To sleep, perchance to Dream…”

Michael Redgrave (1950), Richard Burton (1954), Derek Jacobi (1978), Kenneth Branagh (1988)… All of them have played Hamlet at Kronborg – the star fortress situated near the town of Helsingor in Denmark (immortalized as Elsinore in Shakespeare’s “Hamlet”). The castle has for centuries been one of the most important Renaissance castles in Northern Europe.

I was there yesterday. Again! Because of the bad weather I stayed indoors, listening to the echo of the past times…

In the catacombs I visited one of the major Danish heroes – Holger Danske, or Ogier the Dane, mentioned in “Legends of Charlemagne” or “Romance of the Middle Ages” by Thomas Bulfinch…

… and I watched a beautiful shadow theatre!

I had a wonderful time and this post is my humble tribute to the magic of Elsinore…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Elsinore

  1. Red Toenails says:

    Great stuff.

    Like

  2. Doug says:

    Love the first shot – very ‘impressionistic’

    Like

  3. Jeff Sinon says:

    Great series of images. #1 is my favorite.

    Like

  4. meanderlight says:

    Lovely images and accompanying reportage

    Like

  5. Love the reflection one! Also the ones shot through the windows.

    Like

  6. makingmade says:

    Great photos! The shadow theatre thing is cool. I’ve never seen anything like that. BTW, oddly enough there’s a band I like called Elsinore. http://www.elsinoremusic.net/

    Like

    • iltana says:

      I’m glad you like the shadow theatre. I really enjoyed it. And… I must say that Elsinore’s music appeals to me too. Thanks for the link 🙂

      Like

  7. Elisa says:

    I love this set of images…..the colors and the story. I especially like the soft reflections of the buildings in the windows. I think they are enchanting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

